The Houses of Parliament

Consisting of the House of Lords and the House of Commons, the Houses of Parliament form part of the Palace of Westminster. Elizabeth Tower, commonly known as Big Ben, sits at the north end of the Palace. Designed by Architect Charles Barry, construction began on the Perpendicular Gothic style building in 1840. Beset by many delays and overspending the building was completed 30 years later. The Houses and Parliament with Big Ben is one of the most recognisable buildings in the world, becoming a world heritage site in 1987.